View of Treak Cliff Cavern
Treak Cliff Cavern is one of only two Blue John mines in the world. Both mines are located beneath Treak Cliff Hill Castleton, Derbyshire, but Treak Cliff Cavern is the older of the two having been established sometime between 1745 and 1750.
Into the Mine at Treak Cliff Cavern
Blue John is semi-precious fluorospar containing yellow purple and blue bands and has been worked for centuries to produce decorative wares and architectural structures including vases and columns, examples of which can be found in the finest stately homes across the UK including Chatsworth and Buckingham Palace.
The original mine closed in 1926, but eventually came under the control of the Harrison family in 1945 who have since developed the mine as a source of Blue John jewellery rock for the production of ornamental pieces.
Cliff Blue Vein Elephant Carving hand-finished at Treak Cliff Cavern.
Treak Cliff Cavern and gift shop is open to the public from 10am every day with the exception of the 25th December and runs a number of daily tours of the mine
Treak Cliff Cavern will be presenting a Blue John exhibition at the York Racecourse Antiques Decorative and Fine Art Fair on the 8th and 9th June 2018, covering the history of Blue John mining at Treak Cliff Cavern whilst giving visitors to the fair a unique opportunity to buy exquisite and unique antique, vintage and contemporary bespoke pieces of ornamental Blue John wares and jewellery, examples of which are shown below. The exhibition will be accompanied by a daily talk about Treak Cliff Cavern entitled “Treakcliff Cavern and the Story of Blue John”.
For Further information about Treak Cliff Cavern or to inquire about any of the items shown on this page visit the Treak Cliff Cavern web site at http://www.bluejohnstone.com/ or email Treak Cliff Cavern at email@example.com Alternatively, for an informal chat about the mine and the products of the highly skilled artisans at Treak Cliff Cavern call 0044 (0)1433 620571.